Chinese copy.. a noobs PoV

L

littlerick

Before i got my airbrush gear i did a lot of research.... Now I know EVERYBODY, who is any good advises branded gear. I agree, without question they are right.

However, after pricing up the advice, it worked out to be quite a bit more than I had... So, I went with a cheap kit, 2 no-name ab's and a 3ltr tanked compressor. I tried the brushes, and found that unless i strip n clean every 10 mins, they were $%*^.

I looked at the NEO by Iwata, around £45. Then come across a Veda 180, its a cheap and maybe bad copy of a Iwata costing £200+. Looking into it more I found mixed reviews and it seemed like a gamble on if you got a good one or not! Looking into the NEO also got similar reviews.

I purchased the Veda about 6 weeks ago now and have used it most days to make a mess on paper. I'm a complete noob as the title suggests, so i dont know any better at the moment, but, I can get a line as thin as hair and also a decent flow of paint. I can wash it out change colour and it'll spray away again without hassle. The Veda 180 cost me £21 and I dont expect it to give me a lifetime of hassle free use, but parts are available and cheap. So if anyone is like me and just wants to have a go n see how it pans out, it may be worth a look.

I'll probably get a better ab in time and look back and think "what a noob" but thats where i'm at right now and just thought I would share it.

It's kind of a double edged sword. I understand that you don't want to plop down a ton of money on something you may not enjoy or be good at. The problem is though often times people will give up because airbrushing just seems impossible, when the fault lies in the cheap airbrush usually. It's a bit of a shame that you have to go higher quality just to be able to perform. Then the funny part is once you master it, you can modify those cheap ones to work pretty good usually lol.