Choices choices

K

Kacper

Hello all,

I'm a multi-tool artist and i want to add airbrushing to my techniques. I struggle with compressor/airbrush choice -
1. im paiting in my room, so noise is very important.
2. i paint large canvases/boards - minimum is 1.3 x 1.3m, the biggest (so far) was 4m x 2m.

What kind of compressor and airbrush should i chose for this kind of projects?

For example i can buy this one very cheaply, but they say its up to 0.4mm nozzle... will it be enough?

Euro-Tec 30A
(Item no. 160030)

• Ideal compressor for professional airbrushers
• Utilisation of two airbrushes with nozzle sizes up to
0.4 mm each
• Supply with quick coupling nd 5

• Suction capacity: 25 liter
• Pressure: 116 PSI
• Tank: 4 l
• Noise level: 40 dB (A) 1 m
• Weight: 22 kg

Hi. Are you going to want to cover the whole surface in some kind of base coat, or large area etc! If so at that size you may be better off with a mini hvlp.

An all round airbrush, which is a work horse, and still capable of great detail, look at the eclipse range. The BCS might be a good option for you as it has a .5 nozzle, and is the siphon fed version, which can hold a lot of paint. The siphon brushes do require more air pressure though so worth bearing in mind. If you want gravity fed the hp-cs is a .35 nozzle, however you can buy the needle, nozzle, and head from the BCS and make it a .5. The cup however is a good size for most applications, but would need a fair bit of refilling to cover that size. Again it depends on what you do with it, if you are cover the whole surface or just a smaaller area for actual artwork.