Createx what paint do I use

P

paulcouk

Hi, Im trying to paint eagle what paint do I use
do I use transparent or Illustration paint, what is best
paul

The paint that is used depends on a couple of things at a quick glance. The first is the substrate ( surface) that you are painting on ( ie paper, canvas or a hard surface). Is the paint meant for the surface and if so what prep is needed if any.
The second would be the painting technique ( are you working on a dark background and planning on "building up"the image with white first or is it the opposite.
Anyways if you're painting on paper I would go the route of the illustration paint... Easy to work with and you can get great detail out of it. Plus if you have the trans. base for the illustration line you can further increase the transparency of the paint. Hopefully this helps.

Hi thanks for the answer, Ricky
I am a beginner at airbrushing I am using in black card no prep needed because it prob end up in the bin,
it will but finding it hard to get any defection in the white part o the head, it seams to be white on top of white, I have looked on tube for airbrushing hair or feathers
with out any luck
Paul

We all have to start somewhere:)
Try throwing down the white for the head and come in using a grey or vice versa ( a blue and orange mix works good too) using a shield is one way you can achieve the appearance of feathers along with freehand techniques . You can also cut out mock feather templates... That works well. As well as try throwing in some dagger strokes as well, it helps with variety.
I'll try and post some process pics for you later. It was on a piece I did not too long ago of a eagle. It should give you a better idea on how to tackle the piece.

Hi Ricky That would be nice some thing to look at
Mr Micron that would be nice if I could do that..I haven't got to the body bit yet still on the white on its head
but I hadent seen that one thanks

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg