Hello

I

iScream

New 40 something year old guy here from the Nashville, Tn area. Name is Chris. I do computer stuff for a living but, over 20 years ago in a previous life, I painted full size cars for a living and did some custom striping and such. But I used a full sized spray gun for all that.

Now I'm about to buy my first airbrush for painting RC car bodies and I have a few questions on starting equipment setup.

I know I'm going to start with the Iwata Eclipse HP CS which I'll probably get from Chicago Airbrush Supply since it comes with a free braided hose and it's easy to find a coupon.

I recently bought a nice California Air Tools oilless compressor with a 10 gallon tank so I'm covered there. I plan to install a water trap a few feet from the compressor as a first line of defense against moisture.

The main thing keeping me from completing my order right now is choosing a moisture trap and regulator to go right where I'll be working. I like the ones I see with a gauge built in but I have no idea if the Medea is better than the Paasche is better than the DAGR, and so on.

I do know that I want to minimize stuff hanging directly off the AB since I need to maneuver it into all kinds of positions to paint inside RC car shells.

Anyway, not really sure if I should create a thread in the compressor forum or if it's OK to discuss in an intro thread. But I guess I just did the latter. :whistling:

This looks like a great site and I can't wait to get my equipment, practice my daggers, lines and dots for a while, then really take advantage of some of the tutorials here.

Welcome from Washington State Chris. I think you will for sure enjoy this site and all it has to offer.

Cant help with your moisture traps but welcome to the forum Chris good to have you aboard and look forward to seeing some of your work

Welcome to the forum.