How often do you break down for cleaning?

crewchief227

Needle-chuck Ninja
I tried searching for this but not much I could find. I use a HP-CS and because it is my only good brush at the moment I tend to baby it. I use non-solvent paints like com-art/createx and after a day of working I break it down fully and clean, lube and reassemble. Although I am also into firearms and I am an ARMY Vet so I am just under the mentality of when your done for the day you break it down and clean every speck before you put her to bed for the evening.

I use to do it also. Now I only strip down completely if I start to have performance issues. If you flush and clean it properly after use, it shouldn't need to be broken down.

With Com-art and especially Createx I would clean it at the end of each session. With E'tac I clean after a few weeks of use only.

I have the same brush and rinse and flush it out really well after I use it but other then that only as needed like jeff said.

I use to do it also. Now I only strip down completely if I start to have performance issues. If you flush and clean it properly after use, it shouldn't need to be broken down.
This is my method. My main reason is if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Every time I strip my ABs there is a risk of me damaging the parts.

Last edited by a moderator:
I used to break the brush down after use also but as a result tended to damage stuff like needles and nozzles on a regular basis.

I found that if you prevent our paint from drying up there is realy no need to disasemble the airbrush. I tend to flush the gun and clean the needle with water about every 15-30 minutes (depending a bit on the temperature) and indication for me is when the paint starts to dry against the wall off the cup.