Inexpensive DA advice?

D

Dark Rose

I'm looking for an inexpensive DA siphon feed internal mix AB... I'm not an artist, just a hobbyist at the moment. Currently I've been using it to prime/seal my hand cast miniatures, so I went to the cheap plastic Paasche SA just to cut down on overspray waste and for thinner coats. Locally I can get and have been using some of the Creatix paints and tried some of the cheap hobby acrylics with mixed results... I'm looking to maybe get back into plastic models in the future and be able to do better camo/shading/detailing.
Right now I'm looking at 3, trying to keep it under $100.
Paasche VL
Iwata Neo
Iwata Revolution BCR

Any distinct pros and cons to any of them? I can find limited parts for each locally (Hobby Lobby is all we have).
I'm currently using a cheap 3 gal tank compressor with regulator and water trap. I can get Creatix paints and maybe some of the Aztek paints locally.
I'm having problems with my cheap external mix clogging, because once I prime so many parts I set them aside, get more ready, and it takes a few minutes...
So I'm looking for a better option with more flexibility on a budget.
Thoughts?

Not sure about the Paasche, the REvolution is probably the better of the Iwata ones, the Neo is just branded Iwata. Check the needle packing, if you are going to use anything other than water based make sure it is a PTFE aka Teflon (solvent resistant) needle packing. Createx paints can be problematic, they were intended for textiles and like a larger nozzle. Maybe go with the Aztek paints. Just make sure they are Ab specific.

These reviews are all for gravity feed (except the VL) but I think you can get all these brushes in siphon.

VL review from a reviewer who knows AB's... https://sites.google.com/site/donsairbrushtips/paasche-vl
Revolution https://sites.google.com/site/donsairbrushtips/iwata-revolution-hp-cr
Neo https://sites.google.com/site/donsairbrushtips/neo-for-iwata