Iwata Neo Convert to .50mm

T

ThaChad

Hey all,

I am new to this forum, I recently got into Air Brushing to paint Slot Car bodies.

I am by no means an artist and I am doing relatively simple paint jobs, but in Slot Car's that are measured in grams, it all about keeping the weight down. Using a rattle can has very little control over volume and spray action, so the use of an Airbrush is needed.

Anyway. I bought a cheapo Harbor Freight Siphon Feed Air brush, because I watched several YouTube videos that said it was actually a decent airbrush for as cheap as it was and it sounded like it would do the job I needed. After painting several bodies, I decided that the low volume I was doing and the huge amount of clean up that was needed for siphon fed air brushes was too much.

So I bought a Iwata Neo gravity fed airbrush and it was fantastic! Easy/quick cleanup better control than the Harbor Freight and better quality..

Anyway, the paint I am using is called SpazTix paint, it is paint designed for painting R/C bodies. Which are made of the same material as Slot Car Bodies.

The paint is Airbrush Ready Lacquer, so I just pour it into the airbrush and spray. I have the air compressor set to 25PSI and it sprays almost dry.. I was suggested to turn down the air pressure and to change out the needle to .5mm instead of the .35mm it comes preinstalled with..

The .50mm needle was suppose to give me better coverage so the paint job didn't look as blotchy and the lower pressure was suppose to allow the paint not to dry before it hits the body.

(Please correct any of this if it's wrong?)

I looked up the Iwata Neo airbrush and found 3 P/N's which specifically said ".5mm":

N0752 - IWATA Needle 0.5mm for Neo BCN
N0802 - IWATA Nozzle 0.5mm for Neo BCN
N1402 - IWATA Neo Nozzle Cap .5 mm

There are also the same corresponding parts for .35mm. Is this the only parts needed to change from the .35mm to the .50mm needle?

Any other input/suggestions for me?

Thanks!

-ThaChad