Need airbrush advice, overwhelmed!

John742

Double Actioner
I need your guys help on selecting an airbrush, these masters are..and I say this VERY lightly "ok" at best for playing around and shooting stencils.

I'm trying to get into automotive graphics and dabble a little in pc cases, Xbox, and ps3/4 amungst other things.

SO, I've been looking around and seen Chicago airbrush supply has the badger patriot 105 on sale for $59. However, I was actually looking at the iwata hp cs. Then there's lots of talk about the passche talon.. I just don't know which way to lean.

I definitely would like something with self centering needle. Really good line control and paint flow. Needs to be able to do fine lines to about 2 to 3 inches would suffice.
Mac valve would be a plus but I don't necessarily need one.

Any suggestions on a really good brush that won't break the bank, that's great for auto graphics that meets my needs? I'm just overwhelmed with the options out there. I'm still a beginner but want to learn with a more professional brush. Just not looking to pay $500 lol more around $175 at most.

I can really recommend the Iwata hp-cs. I use it for auto work, and its basically a great all rounder. Fine line to 2 inch, areally versatile and reliable brush. A lot of airbrush for the money. I have a micron now, but use it in conjunction with my cs, wouldn't be without one.

I hear a lot of good things about the eclipse CS, a lot of pro's have them as a "go to workhorse all rounder" and like Squishy they still use them after they've bought more high end brushes. I jumped to the Iwata HP-B+ after my 'masters' style brushes and it was an eye opener !

Don't worry about Mac valves on the brush, just buy a 'GREX quick disconnect Mac valve " it sits at the end of your air line which benefits any brush you put on there. I bought a couple of Iwata brand Mac valves (not quick disconnect) and they were rubbish compared to the GREX.