For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

New to Everything

Discussion in 'Introductions!' started by Billybamdam, Jul 8, 2018.

1. Billybamdam

Billybamdam Young Tutorling

Hi guys and gals. My name is Billy. Im originally from New Mexico(USA, not Mexico people) currently living in Alabama working as an aircraft mechanic. I’m new to airbrushing and the forum. I have a dream of someday building a bait manufacturing company. I’m far from doing so. I decided I’d start by custom painting crankbaits, create a YouTube channel and e-commerce website, and begin building a small reputation. So I thought, “If I’m going to start airbrushing for real, I’m going to start with the best of the best equipment.” I did my research, saved some money and bought an Iwata HPC Plus, Iwata hose and quick disconnect, SilentAir 20A compressor, cleaning jar, wicked createx paints, crank blanks from a reputable seller, a small shop vac, stencil material, combs, etc etc etc. I began practicing on coroplast cut outs to get the feel of the brush and paints, and create some original jobs. I made some of my own stencils and found materials that made really awesome patterns. I finally pulled the courage together (today) to actually paint a crank bait. Well I thought so until my airbrush decided to act up and spit paint when it wasn’t suppose to. I cleaned it the best I could and moved on. What the heck, it’s managable. I set up my wife’s camera and started recording. I made it past the base coat and while I was cleaning out the gun.... pop shhhhhhhhhh.... run run run run (very quietly hehe) pop shhhhhhhhhhh...... run run run run run run. Faulty pressure switch? OK WHAT THE HECK. God did not want me to paint my first crank today. I guess He wants me to wait until my 3D eyes come in the mail! Oh well!
    basepaint, jord001 and RichardH like this.
  2. Franc Kaiser

Franc Kaiser Needle-chuck Ninja