Olympos 100/200SB (Hybrid) .18 side feed

DaveG

Airbush Analyst
I had read a post by someone claiming that they had purchased an Olympos 100SB that had been "upgraded to Micron specs." Well, the sound of that had me feeling: 1) quite doubtful, and 2) quite curious - so, off to work I went!
First bit was to research what was what, and how would it be possible. I studied schematics, wrote down part numbers, cross referenced, and searched for all of what might be needed. Between the Olympos HP-100SB and one of the Olympos Micron's, the part list of things that are different starts at the head. The Micron has a removable head, the HP100SB does not. So, we start at the nozzle and needle. We get to the trigger (which is similar between the two) but, everything else in the body is different. The HP100SB uses a one piece spring retainer/chucking guide, while the Micron brushes use a multi-part arrangement that offers a good deal of adjustment, to enhance and customize the feel of the trigger. I was able to find all of the needed parts by scrolling through the Olympos parts list, and added everything up. Hmm, a bit pricey to say the least. Looking at what was available on the Olympos website, I realized that I could purchase an Olympos 200B (irregular b grade) complete brush for less than the sum of the parts I was looking to order. I wound up ordering 1) hp-100SB , and 1) 200B (irregular b grade) brushes -
100sb-w-200b-guts-1.jpg

Below we have the HP200 on the upper right, HP100 lower left - if you look closely you will see that the shape of the nozzle contour is different between them. The nozzle on the HP200 is the same nozzle as the .18 Olympos Micron, as is the needle used in the brush. For our custom build, the two nozzles are easily swapped from one brush, to the other.
100-200-nozzles.jpg