Renegade Krome: Bubbling: Pulling my hair out!

M

Mark Taylor

Hi all

I have been airbrushing for a few years now and have pretty good knowledge of cleaning/general airbrushing etc.

Recently, I acquired a second hand Krome in a large deal with a friend. When I first saw the brush, it was spraying water without any problems, including no bubbles.

The guy who was selling it had let it get full of gunk. I took it home and cleaned it with lacquer thinner as per usual. I had a shiny new-looking airbrush as a result.

Once I started trying to spray water, I have had no end of problems. I have spent about 4 hours trying to fix it, to no avail. I am getting constant bubbling from the tip end into the paint cup. This is just with water/cleaner. Water is coming out but it is also pulsing pretty heavily. No problems with any other AB on the same compressor.

I have tried all the usual tricks, including:
- Google-Fu
- Trying out 3 sets of brand new tips (nozzles) & needles in various combinations
- Tightening/loosening needle chuck
- More, more and more cleaning in thinners
- lube
- chapstick on the threads and at the mating between tip and frame

None of the above makes a difference. Something is not right - have I just bought a broken brush or do you clever people have any sage advice to assist?

Many thanks.

Hmm... any defects in the nozzle post where the base of the nozzle sits? have you chapsticked there? Edit: nevermind says you did in your post

Does the nozzle protrude slightly beyond the aircap when assembled?

I just read your intro post and realized you also have a sotar.... I'm assuming it may have been acquired in the same large deal. I'm not sure of all the ins and outs of what fits what but that leads me to believe you may have a mis-matched aircap scenario going on.
@DaveG could, im sure sort that out.

Hi there, thanks for the reply.