Siphon feed airbrush not siphoning?

jkj2000

Young Tutorling
I'm an airbrush newbie, so apologies if the fix to this is obvious. I picked up a Master S622 from tcpglobal, so not exactly an Iwata, but it gets decent reviews for a starter brush. And since I'll be spraying some single stage urethane with it, the 0.8 tip had a big appeal.

However, I can't get it to work and am not sure why. The air comes out fine but even when spraying with water out of the bottle nothing shoots out.

I've disassembled it and nothing appears blocked. My compressor works fine with my gravity-fed airbrush, and on this new one the needles and tips appear to be ok as well, they open and close when I move the trigger, nothing appears bent, all parts look to be machined correctly and the gaskets look good. Just nothing comes out when I pull back on the trigger. I have the pressure set at 40psi.

If I put my finger over the tip and pull back plenty of air goes back into the bottle, bubbles like mad. I've tried everything, even spraying without a tip, and nothing doing. I've checked the air and fluid passages and they seem fine.

If I hold the bottle tightly in there some liquid will spit out in a spray, occasionally. I'm not sure if there's a vacuum issue with the bottle, but it's the one that came with the unit so it's not a beat up one, and it looks good to my eye. I've tried tightening the bottle's lid, loosening it a bit, just to see if any adjustment makes a difference and it hasn't.

Does any of this ring a bell and are there other troubleshooting steps I can try? Thanks a bunch.

Last edited:
Hey there, yes, common problem, there are plenty of threads dealing with this. Make sure the little hole in the top of the bottle is clear. Is the needle chuck screwed on tightly enough - so the needle is moving?