SOTAR review

Nessus

Needle-chuck Ninja
Just got one of these. I'm a noob. I've been practicing with my HP-CS for a few months, but even though I have two needle/tip sizes for it, I wanted to have two separate brushes, one for big/medium, and one for fine. Knew from reading the boards here that Amazon had been doing a yearly promo sale on the SOTAR around the holidays, so I started saving a few months ago in anticipation. Got one chambered in the .2 "fine" needle/tip for about $100 USD.

OOB impressions:

Ergonomics are great. Feels extremely light, the barrel is much thinner than the HP-CS's, and the trigger/grip is closer to the tip. This gives it a very casual, pen-like feel in the hand. The balance point (unloaded) is a little under 1cm behind the trigger/valve stem (on the HP-CS it is right at the front edge of the valve stem). When holding the SOTAR, the weight ends up distributed 50/50 between the fingertips and the handle's contact point at/near the "crotch" of the thumb & forefinger, whereas the HP-CS feels very tip heavy with most of the weight resting on the tip of the middle finger. The main difference this makes, I find, is that the SOTAR encourages you to move the brush with your arm more than your fingers or hand. That's the way one should move a brush (or a pen) anyway, so that's kinda cool IMO.

The trigger button, though of a very similar design to that of the CS, is much more grippy due to the patina'd rather than chrome finish. I had to make a trigger pad for the CS to make it comfortable and non-slippery, but the SOTAR's trigger button feels perfectly fine as-is. The needle spring has a much, much better tension adjustment range than the CS. It can be either very very stiff, or so light you can move it literally just by touching it.