Spotty, sputtery lines...mismatched air compressor?

J

John Matrix

Hi all, mega beginner here. I was recently handed down an old Paasche air brush set as a gift. Due to some hand problems I decided to replace the airbrush itself with a Neo single action trigger style airbrush. The Neo is designed to work with an Iwata compressor, so I bought an adapter so that it would work with my Paasche compressor. No matter how hard I tighten the adapter on to the hose it never seems to make an airtight seal. I've tried wrapping it in duct tape also but I can still feel some air sputtering at the point where the adapter meets the hose. The air brush will work like this but I have trouble getting a solid line. I have attached a picture to show what I mean.
IMG_8874.JPG
First question: Is the leaking air the cause of these spotty lines or is there something else that could be causing it?
Second question: Are there any steps I can take to improve the seal between the adapter and the hose?

Thanks!

Does the compressor have a tank? If not it could be pulsing.
You should also have a regulator on it and ideally a water trap especially if the compressor is tankless.
What paint are you using and what psi?
It’s hard to diagnose properly without all the info.

It would also be nice if you head to the intro section and let us know where you live, what got you started, what you eventually want to do etc

Also if you are using a paasche hose, especially a old one they are prone to leaking. Only way to fix it get a new hose. I just had to recently just to play with my paasche.

Does the compressor have a tank? If not it could be pulsing.
You should also have a regulator on it and ideally a water trap especially if the compressor is tankless.
What paint are you using and what psi?
It’s hard to diagnose properly without all the info.

It would also be nice if you head to the intro section and let us know where you live, what got you started, what you eventually want to do etc