Straight up NOOB...

M

Michael Wieczynski

Fellow Artists,

I am new to the medium known as the airbrush, and currently do not own an airbrush at this time. However, I have been doing allot of research on the subject. I have very decent drawing capabilities, and I have painted quite a few things using rattle cans. Its time to upgrade, and take my skills to the next level. I have never even held an airbrush, but I am confident I will be able to conquer this medium. It looks like so much fun and I am pretty eager to get started. I have an air compressor in my garage ...its a 150 PSI 8 gallon oil less compressor I got from Lowes. I plan on using this for my air brush. I have looked at a few oil/water separators/regulators online at amazon to run inline. I am just hung up on which brush kit to get. I plan on doing the normal stuff skulls, flames, etc. I want to be able to get really fine details as well. I just hope to accomplish the same stuff I can do with pencils and make photo realistic and stylized pieces with the airbrush. I already have a project piece in mind(my motorcycle helmet) but I want to get some serious practice before I tackle the project. I'll probably be doing mostly freehand work with some added stenciling and pin striping for effect. Thanks for having me on the forum, i'll probably be asking alot of questions...so please be patient with me.

V/R

MW

If you have a compressor, all you really need besides and airbrush, is an 1/4" regulator with moisture trap, a 1/4 " quick disconnect set and an airbrush hose that is 1/8 to 1/4. I run all my hoses this way. As for an airbrush, if you're serious, if you have a Hobby Lobby nearby, print a coupon and get an Iwata HP-CS Eclipse. It's about $130 that way. It is a bulletproof, reliable airbrush, that can do some nice details . Also very forgiving on a new user. Parts are reasonable and it's easy to maintain. You can also get some wicked paint and reducer there to practice with.