Airbrush Tip Sizes

S

ShyloLee

I'm new to airbrushing, and have started using a Workquip, gravity fed, dual action gun. (Aussie brand) The tip size is .3mm, & I can't seem to get fine lines out of it..
Will I need to buy a gun with changeable tips or just a smaller tipped gun?

Thanks.

you should get plenty of responces on that one here its a good question how new are you to air brushing are you reducing your paint what pressure are you painting at ?? a .3 tip shoud be conciderd prety fine i am using a .15 infinity its ok not the best dont recomend it for learning i can recomend the badger krome it has a .2 i am not familiar with the brand your using it also takes time to learn how to get super fine lines do planty of work sheets practice dager strokes also you can try posting a picture of your work on the forum so some of the more experienced artists can help

No that size tip should be able to get a pretty thin line, something in the range of a pencil line. I use a.35, a little bigger, and it's very rare that I wish for more. What paints are you using? and what pressure? Both can make it harder for you to get what you want.

You should be able to get finer lines a few ways with what you have. Moving a bit faster, getting closer, lowering your air pressure and thinning your paints, are the main ones I tend to use.

Lowering your air pressure helps a lot, and it's the easiest thing and can make a big difference. Some painters keep theirs down as low as 5 or 10 psi, too low for me but everyone kinda has to find their own balance for what they are doing. T shirt guys can run 40-50 psi with textile paints (I've heard), again not for me, but it shows that each application has different set-ups.