For Every Airbrush Artist!

Ready to get involved? Register for free and you won't see any google advertising!

Register

Airbrushing and oil pants

Discussion in 'General Airbrush Discussion' started by Forrest, May 5, 2017.

1. Forrest

Forrest Young Tutorling

Your average airbrushing medium is water-based. In my situation as an artist, I prefer to paint large format, where acrylic/water-based paints don't cut it for me. The problem I'm faced with is my want to continue using airbrushing, as I apply certain effects to my works, often times those must be the last layer (or close to it). That won't work with oils (obviously).

I'm wondering if any other artists here have dealt with this and what solutions you found. The idea of moving to a solvent-based airbrush paint is not appealing to me, especially with the smaller room I have to work in. But I wonder if there isn't some other approach, application or other that I've not been aware of?

Thanks.
    jord001 likes this.
  2. AndreZA

AndreZA Elite Member! Elite Member! Very Likeable!

We've got an artist here in South Africa that airbrushes with oil paints. I don't know with what he reduces with but he gets great results.
    jord001 likes this.
  3. JackEb

JackEb The Dragon Hunter Staff Member Admin

@RebelAir may be able to help out, he's done some mixed media stuff, not sure if he's done oils and water based airbrush paint though.

How about you head across to the intro section and say hi, let us know where you live on the globe and what airbrush paint you current have, it will help us tailor solutions for you, sometimes we have a member 'next door' which can be fun . . . .
  4. Forrest

Forrest Young Tutorling

Which forum is the intro, Beginners?
    JackEb likes this.
  5. JackEb

JackEb The Dragon Hunter Staff Member Admin

6. Squishy

Squishy Queen Clown Slayer Mod

Is there a particular reason the water based isn't working for you? There may be an additive or technique that could resolve the issue.