am i using the correct paints ?

M

Matwom

hi guys
im a sculpture maker which i make out of old scrap metal , sandblast , prime then paint .
iv only recently started with the paint side of it . my sculptures are only around 12 inchs
is height .
i was told that VALLEJO GAME AIR was the best paint to use but im not sure that iv chosen correctly .
im new to airbrushing and i took the first peace of advice i was given , im using a siphon feed airbrush
and any help would be fab , thank you

Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you for your reply , I’m learning all the time , are there any tutorials on this forum referring to siphon feed airbrush work flows that you now of which may help me along ? Thank you
I just googled :p I don't have experience with Vallejo. :D

You can find lot's off topics about siphon feed as well other airbrushes. But I don't understand your question what you mean with work flow.
Something like that?
maxresdefault.jpg

Here's a workflow lol

Well,
1 do your sculptures go outside?
2 how much are you willing to pay extra to not need to mix your own colors?

If yes for 1 I would treat them more as an automotive surface.

2 I ask because that's basically the one advantage you get from Vallejo is the range of colors but at the expense of paying about half cost each for a fourth as much paint as most others. So double the price but lots of pre made variety.

If you have the ability to spray solvent, even outside, I would consider a super cheap mini gun and some epoxy primer, what you use after that won't matter a whole lot.

If you have the ability to spray solvent, even outside, I would consider a super cheap mini gun and some epoxy primer, what you use after that won't matter a whole lot.
hi mate
thanks for the reply and advice ,this is my planned work flow -- after sandblasting ,use a rattle can gray car primer / then airbrushing {Vallejo game colour} then 2k laquer from air gun , finished .

do you think this would be ok ?