Bill's Wild trip

Wild.Bill

Double Actioner
I really like to idea of these logs as a way to go back and see my progress. Like a lot of others I have to say that I am not an artist but I can be creative. I have done a lot of art using a laser to etch images/pictures and in the early days there was a lot of learning like there is here.

For the boat the bottom has been painted and sanded with 1000 grit paper and is ready for the clear. I will add a picture after its complete.

For the art side I am still working on just getting a good feel for doing the finer things. Have spent a bunch of time working with shields and getting hard and soft edges. I also have done some work with stencils and using them go get a rough outline of things. Not being an artist the proportions a all wacky if I try to do thins free hand. This is a picture of working with a stencil today and I will say that I really, really didn't like the green paint. It was a medium viscosity paint that is not sold as airbrush paint and it just didn't thin down well. I was able to do a lot of fine lines and dots with it but viscosity seemed to keep changing going through the brush. I mixed it well, let sit for 15 minutes, mixed again and started using it. Won't be doing that again.

I didn't like the way the green was coming out so I just stopped working on it. I could have blended t a lot better but I just dumped the paint out of the brush. Its the first thing I have tried to do that was not just paint a bigger surface. I am sure a year from now I will just wonder what i was thinking.

Bill
IMG_1061.JPG

These logs are a great idea… as long as we remember to update them (yes I’m looking at me lol)
Try straining your paint (womens stockings can be handy if you don’t have a ‘proper’ mesh -190micron is recommended)
That’s the consequences of not using ‘proper’ airbrush paint, results can vary huuuugely