Compressor for Siphon feed airbrush

P

pinmall

I am new to airbrushing and was able to get a siphon feed airbrush for christmas. I also received a gravity feed that came with a small little compressor from Master C-16-B Black Mini Compressor. It says it can max out at 25 psi. Should this mini compressor be enough for the siphon feed airbrush?

You should be good to go... I started with Badger Crescendo ( bottom feed) and a Testors diaphragm compressor. The compressor was only capable of 20psi.

So I tried it and it didn't work. I even tried just water in the bottle and it didn't pull up. Thought or where to trouble shoot. I do understand it is a cheaper brand, but I just want to try it first before I invest too much money.

Are you using airbrush appropriate paint? Also check to see if there is any obstructions in the airbrush and the fluid nozzle tip.

I was given a cheap no brand siphon airbrush to see if I could do anything with it and it would only work with over 60 PSI and that was with only water in it so I guess 25 psi wont cut it for that airbrush

Hi @pinmall check out the videos on airbrushtutor.com They will give you an idea of what you need for compressors and what brushes do what. Pop along to the intro section as well and say Hi for us, we find it good to get to know people. Where you are int eh world, what you are wanting to do, gear you have, arty background, that sort of thing.

Thanks, Mark

Siphons do use more air than gravity, and although the compressor may put out 25 psi, by the time ot gets to your ab, that may well have dropped.

Siphons generally are used in the range of 25-45 PSI..Unless using higher reductions the standard is about 35 PSI..25 for standard 50% reductions, even lower in some cases with higher reductions but generally they want some oooomph!