Greetings Forum Members

VanGogo

Triple Actioner

I tried airbrushing as a kid with an extremely cheap syphon feed as I was inspired by the t-shirt artists I had seen. This was the mid-late 70’s so no internet for great tutorials. Needless to say I failed miserably and gave up.
10 years ago I bought a Master airbrush to paint RC helicopters and planes. Nothing fancy just fades and solid colors. 2 years ago I pulled it out of storage to shade and paint some tombstones for Halloween which sparked my interest in trying to airbrush some art.
After some research and many tutorials on YouTube (which led me here) I purchased an Iwata Hp-CS. I have been practicing for 2-3 months now and still learning and getting frustrated, but it is getting better slowly.
Here is my latest attempt at a skull. 0D121B56-D2E9-40F3-BCF4-13F345274292.jpeg

Welcome aboard:)
For a newbie with an airbrush you’ve done well. Your highlight and shadows are off but that will improve with time, there’s so much to think about when you start out, it gets to a point where you think less and just ‘do’ :)

I look forward to seeing more from you as you progress

Thanks Jack. I know I have a long way to go. Lol.
Sorry, I wasn’t trying to be picky, just trying to point out something for you to keep an eye on :)
Your attempt is way better than my first ones !
Nothing worse than wondering what you could have done better but all the comments are just ‘good job, well done’ - which are nice but not helpful :)
We all started at the same place, we remember the frustration… it gets better, I promise :)

Welcome to the forum, we are a good bunch and we have a nice airbrush community here. Nice skull considering your quite new to the art side of things. Keep practising, its the only way. Even after many years we still learn new things and of course we still practice.

lee

Welcome VanGogo. That’s a hell of a lot better than my first few skulls.