Masking

VanGogo

Triple Actioner
I have tried a few different masks. Frisket, rice tape, low tack blue vinyl, and paper with spray adhesive.
All but the vinyl, I used on art paper. Which of course pulls up paper if there isn’t paint on it. Even with paint on it, all of the masking will pull up some paint, and sometimes paper too, on the art paper.
On a pre-primed,with acrylic paint, art board, the vinyl masking and rice tape would not pull up the primer, but occasionally(not much) would pull up paint I had sprayed then masked over. Especially CI burnt umber.

how do you keep masking from pulling up paint?
Should I spray an intercoat if I want to mask an area I have already painted?
If so would Createx 4030 work? As I already have some.

That does happen you might have to touch up those areas later I'm no expert but that's what I do it also depends on the quality frisketyou buy don't buy cheap invest in a good quality frisket. There are members here who could tell you what a good quality frisket is.

That does happen you might have to touch up those areas later I'm no expert but that's what I do it also depends on the quality frisketyou buy don't buy cheap invest in a good quality frisket. There are members here who could tell you what a good quality frisket is.
I’ve had enough touch up practice lol. I have arttool frisket. I see lots of artists using tape, frisket etc. with no problems. Just wondering what I’m missing, and if an intercoat could solve my problems.

A layer of intercoat will probably help, but depending on the adhesive on the frisket, you might be just pulling off the intercoat instead of the paint.

Are you allowing proper time for the paint to cure before applying anything sticky to it? CI colors are designed to have a longer cure time so you can work them if you need to via scratching or erasing. They stay soft longer than other paints. I believe it's 48 hours, but don't quote me on that.