Metallic Acrylic Craft Paint

J

Joe Fusco

I have been re-painting Nerf blasters for the past 3-4 years and just started using an airbrush. I have a large collection of craft acrylics - Folk Art, Apple Barrel, etc. - and have read up on how to use those with an air brush. I had some great success with a Berry Wine color and used it as a benchmark for thinning the paints. Since my blasters often have a steampunk feel to them I work with a lot of metallics.

Yesterday, I thinned down a couple metallic colors - gunmetal and sapphire blue - with a mixture of distilled water and 91% iso alcohol. Everything was going fine for a while then I noticed I had to start opening the valve more and more before the paint would flow. Eventually, it would stop flowing. I tried a few things that would get it flowing again for a couple of passes (maybe) and it would stop again. I could quickly go to full open and it would start blasting out but then either quickly stop or stop and start. I'm pretty sure it's the metallic flakes clogging somewhere but I've tried thinning more, increasing pressure, reducing pressure, and all roads seem to end up in the same place.

Has anyone used metallic acrylic craft paints successfully? What did you use to thin them and in what ratio? Am I better off just buying airbrush metallics?

Equipment: Master G22 airbrush with a TC-20 compressor

You are getting tip dry , On metallics you want at least a .5 needle nozzle set up at about 50 PSI, You can not shoot detail with metallic unless you get them that are designed for an airbrush use.
So if you go to hobby lobby and buy Wicked metallic it will flow better then craft paint which are not designed to be used in an airbrush due to the size of the metallic flakes in it.
Metallic are best shot through a spray gun or better yet a flake buster.