Please help with acrylics

Mike115

Mac-Valve Maestro!
I've done loads of painting with solvents from zero paints, gravity colours and splash paints never had any issues with making them flow, today I went as low as 10psi for detail work without any issues.

Then I switched to acrylics to give my head a rest from the smell of solvent paints.

Even at 40psi I just couldn't make the damn stuff flow, so gave up and went back to solvents.

So, what am I doing wrong that means I have a perfect relationship with solvents and not acrylics?

I don't use the same airbrush (I did once and it took hours to clear the gunk)

Do you mix water? Please help before I go crazy.

Sent from my M2007J1SC using Tapatalk

Ron is correct. Most need to be reduced by some method. Check the manufacturer’s info for the recommended reducer and don’t be afraid to play with it. I have to reduce all of the Createx lines quite a lot more than they recommend.

I have little experience but I found that Golden High Flow paints are easy to use. I add Golden Airbrush medium and it works fine.

which brand are you using ? Createx can have a bit of a learning curve and switching from solvent to createx will make that curve more noticeable.
definitely reduce water based brands for most uses, the exception is if you are using a .5 needle or higher at a PSI of 40+

Yes acrylics are a different beast than solvents, just like automatic cars are different to manual transmission. Trial and error will be the norm for a little while but you'll get there if you are already successful with solvent.

Thanks so much for the help guys, I was so crazy frustrated today with valehjo acrylics, I'd totally forgotten about the basics again, thanks very much

I've struggled with this myself. I am so familiar with lacquer paints. I know how to use them and what to expect when I do:D.

I've tried water based paint twice and gave up out of frustration:mad:. I'm sure I didn't give it a long enough chance.