Question about Golden Fluid Acrylics

pshit

Gravity Guru
I'm new to airbrushing. I have little knowledge on how mix and use paint. Several years ago a bought some Golden Fluid Acrylics. I want to use them since paint is expensive. I have a big bottle of Carbon Black and a smaller one of Titanium White. Is it designed to be used in airbrushing if I add some Airbrush medium or water?

I want something easy to use that doesn't clog the airbrush easily. If I add lots of medium is it possible to obtain a paint similar to the Golden High Flow because I really like it but it's expensive to practice.

You should be able to thin it you without much issue. Use some medium, and add a little water to the mix - and you should be good to go. The black will be easier, the white may still give you tip dry issues before it gets so thin it won;t cover any longer...

High flow is a re-brand of Golden's Airbrush Colors. About 2013 they changed the name and a few of the colors, because they wanted to reach the pen and brush marker market.

Golden High flow is interchangeable with their old Airbrush Colors and uses the same mediums, transparent extender and GAC900 if working on cloth or textiles.

Generally GHF works straight out of the bottle even in detail brushes, but I'd recommend reducing the white with their airbrush medium or water with a touch of flow aid.

Golden paints are amazing for particle size and pigment density and are my second favorite line of paints.

The only downside to them is rapid crosslinking so erasing or sgraffo techniques don't work so well.

Their performance on hard surfaces and lightfastness is unparalleled in my experience.

They are a great place to start.

Golden liquif acrylics are much, much thicker and must be thinned with golden Airbrush medium at about 2 to 1 to go through a detail Airbrush.