Question about pressure on a compressor.

E

Exist2Resist

I bought a compressor from Amazon, and it does not have a tank. It's a pasche branded one.

The reason I bought one without a tank is because prior to doing so I watched a video of the owner from Badger saying a tank is not necessary.

Now mind you I'm no expert, and so far I've been only practicing lines, dots, and shading in black. Doing this over the last few days I noticed that my pressure had been dropping below 20 PSI. The reason I noticed this is because if I'd do a continuous spray/line it would get lighter to the point of disappearing, even though my distance from the paper does not change. When I looked down at the PSI gauge it would drop below 20, and I set it to 40 in order to work with 30 PSI. There is a bit of a drop of when I start the airflow.

When I was working today I also noticed that I'd have breaks in my spray.

I'm using Aztec airbrush paints, I try and keep the tip clean, and I have yet to buy tip juice/lube.

My question is is this due to the lack of tank, or could this be due to something entirely different?

I expect so - I'm not sure about the paschee but the high quality tankless ones are expensive to get good working ones. Even a small tank is better than none. Perhaps you can set a small one up.

I watched that video and Ken is partly right...

One of the reasons people wanted a tank in the past was because they would find the airbrush "pulsed" when hooked directly up to the compressor. This was because older compressors ran at a lower speed and typically had a larger diaphragm. With those older compressors, the air coming out of the nozzle of the airbrush would often have a constant fluctuation when used without a tank. This is what most older people are referring to when they talk about the air pulsing without a tank.