Questions about air pressure and paint thinning.

J

John V

Hi All:
I am a beginner airbrush user with about ten hours practice doing basic beginner practice . Dots, lines and so on.
I have looked on the Forums and found some answers, but need some guidance please.

My current setup
Airbrush Thayer & Chandler Omni 5000 by Badger .50 Needle /Nozzle I think.
California Air Tools Ultra Quiet Air Compressor 5510 SE
Pressure regulator at Compressor . Five foot hose to water trap. Attached to seventy five foot air hose . Attached to Water trap and pressure regulator then to ten foot Badger air hose to Airbrush.

My goal in airbrushing is to do portraiture and Illustration art.
After joining the forum I have learned that the airbrush I have is not the best one for what I want to do. But the Omni 5000 is capable of doing more than I am at this time, and a good brush to learn on. So I will use it.

What I need help with is understanding what ranges of air pressure and paint thinning, I need to use to produce the finest detail the Omni can produce.
The two brands of paint I am using are Badger Air.Opaque primary set 701 and Createx Opaque Airbrush colors. I am tending to use the Badger paints more right now.
The paper I am using for practice is newsprint packing paper and copier paper.
I seem to be getting to much splattering or spidering. At this point the color or brand of paint does not seem to make a difference.
John V

The regular createx opaque is actually intended for fabrics and would be rather difficult to get a lot of detail with.

Idk about the badger air but I think it should be easier. It says thin with water if needed.

Unfortunately your so far from what I am used to that it's hard for me to give you a good starting point.

I would probably use 20 psi and just thin the paint until it starts acting right at that pressure.
That may well be no thinning on a .5