Tape and Flake

T

Tommy Beyl

Tape,
I am about to buy an octopus panel Jammer from coast. I also need more fineline tape. currently I have 1/8 fsb tape but I found radius tighter than 1.5 inches and the tape buckles. I am thinking of getting 1/16th tape for tighter turns but also saw that red fsb tape is supposed to compress better for tighter curves. I plan to do a bunch of back and forth curves using the tape on the octopus. With the arms being thin I imagine I will need real tight turns and narrow tape. Any experienced advise on red vs orange?
Also I have a .8 tip toch up gun and would like to try flake. Any flake products that work with auto air 4030 that I could shoot through a .8 gun? May just have to wait to mess with the flake in the future.
-Tommy

Hi Tommy, I just started playing with flake and candies myself. I'm far from a pro, but I'll tell ya what I've been using. I have 3 different sizes/colors of FBS tape... 1/4" orange, 1/8" blue, and 1/16" red. I use the red and blue the most, don't really know if there is a major difference in material besides the width, and therefore the different turns they're each capable of. For something like that octopus, I think you'll be happier with the 1/16" tape. As for flake... I knew I wanted to get into it, so I bought a couple cheapo guns off of amazon (.8 and 1.3 nozzles). I use the 1.3 to shoot .006 flake from Tropical Glitz mixed with an intercoat clear.... I used HoK SG100 the first time, just to finish what I had left. And now I'm trying a ppg product called "dbc-500"... another intercoat clear. I really only used the .8 gun for a couple things that would too big to airbrush. For all my actual paint, sealer, candies... I only use Createx products, so I haven't found any issues with spraying the flake in the IC, and then spraying candy2.0 over it... I just let it dry over night, sand it the next day and continue. I have read that 4030 works as a carrier for flake, but if you use that then I think you need to pu