Water drops using water based paints

S

shadow2462

A few days ago someone had asked about doing water drops using water based paints so can you believe it...me of all people giving a tutorial..lol Well I know how it was done because I had seen it on youtube somewhere but never actually done it myself so I figured how can I explain if I never did it so here goes. First you have to think 3D, in order to make something 3 dimentional you need a object, a shadow, and a highlight. Pease excuse my pics and paint work I am a noob. IMG_0247.jpg It works best if you use a mid tone for background, I used Wicked 2 parts white and 1 part cobalt blue. Next you need your shape / object, and shade as well for this I used straight cobalt blue to creat the shape and darken part for shadow. (right side of pic) IMG_0248.jpg and lastly decided light is coming from left so white highlight is done on left side. IMG_0249.jpg Again I apologize for condition of pics but wanted to show it could be done and in 3 simple steps...besides if I can do this anyone can lol. I hope this helps someone if not I at least lerned how to do it LMAO by the way...the tiny drops are 3/16 " (4.7 mm)

I also searched a bit. Found a vid where someone used blue tack to make the drop shapes with and sprayed the outer perimeter that way.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Thanks for that but I think when people talk about water droplets they mean a whole surface covered in tine drops. You can not do those one by one and thus why people are stumped by the process using waterbased paints.

Thanks for that but I think when people talk about water droplets they mean a whole surface covered in tine drops. You can not do those one by one and thus why people are stumped by the process using waterbased paints.