what is the difference between- Iwata HP-CS vs Iwata Eclipse HP-CS?

A

Artista

Im a novice when it comes to Iwata products.

It is a bit confusing to select which 'brush to go with for FINE ART painting. Specifically-portrait work.

I respect the works of artist Steve Driscoll.
He recommends Iwata brushes CM-SB and the HP-CS.

Ive decided to go with the HP-CS for now (cost wise) but I have noticed that the Iwata Eclipse also has a HP-CS model.

What are the differences between the two? Any responses would be highly appreciated ,thanks.

The Eclipse with the big gravity cup is the HP-CS. All Eclipse's model number are HP-(B(small cup),C(big cup),SB(side cup),BC(bottom feed))S.

Thanks AndreZA , but I made a mistake on the models ..
I meant to ask what the difference was between the
Iwata HP-CP (NOT the-CS) vs the Iwata Eclipse HP-CS..silly me!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
http://www.iwata-medea.com/products/iwata-airbrushes/

That should help you sort out the information. But, I've never heard of or seen an HP-CP. Either way, there website explains the differences in the designs between the different airbrush series.

Either way, for fine detail work like on portraits, I wouldn't go with any of the "C" models. You don't need the larger cup, and they come with .3 or larger nozzles, which are too big for good detail work. I would look at the HP-B+, HP-SB, or HP-BH. Or the CM-SB or CM-B if you have the money (they're worth the money, though). I like the side-feed airbrushes best, especially for detail. No color cup to bump your finger into, and nothing obstructing your view. Plus, you can clean up and change colors easier, and get different sized color cups, too. The plastic Aztek cups fit the CM-SB, and are dirt cheap.

Hi Artista,