hey im new to airbrushing

M

michaelriddick16

Hi all michael from Glasgow Scotland here, been working as a vehicle spray painter for 4 year's and recently ventured into airbrushing. Bought a mini compressor, gravity feed dual action airbrush with a 0? 2 needle and a single action one with a 0.4 and while there I remeberd talking to someone a while back who used ink to airbrush at home in his bedroom. So I bought myself 6 different coloured inks aswell. I have a few questions for everyone.
1- does anyone on here use inks. If so could you give me advice on using them?
2- im airbrushing at home but say I wanted to car wing mirrors at homewhat paints aeare best and safe?
3- I have seen small airbrush boths are these good for at home using likes of solvent paints?
4- what is the best paints to use for airbrushing cars, bikes ect..I know car paint works but what others work.

Thank you everyone for any replies.

Hi Michael ,never used inks myself but do use my lechler car paint through a 0.4 but word of warning if using waterbased car paint ,it's dirty by nature so filter it well . I also use trident and Comart which I use with a 0.2 or less for details . Hope it goes well for you .

I see. We aviod waterbased at work and stick to solvents. Are trident and comart types of paint? I got the 0.4 one off a friend but it was single action and felt tricky to control Ive been playing about with the inks on paper but im keen to see what other peoples opinions are. But the inks arent suitable for car parts I dont think.

Hi Michael, welcome from another Glaswegian living in Holland:)

I previously used Schmink aero-color which is classed as an ink but switched later to first com-art and then e-tac efx, what inks did you buy? Using inks isn't much different than using dedicated airbrush paints except inks will usually require less thinning, the main problem with inks is that they are by nature not light fast, meaning they fade in sun light.