Major paint scratch off

Cpt.Nemo

Gravity Guru
Hey guys I'm so frustrated right now I could scream! I just repainted my recurve bow, and even with sanding, degreasing and self etching primer from duplicolor, the paint just scratches right off the metal! I put a clear coat over it and since I'm a noob at clear its uneven and orange peel everywhere. I'm not too concerned with the orange peel as much as the paint. How tha heck do you paint metal?! It's like nothing but powder coat sticks!! This self etching primer seems useless as it scratches right off. Is that how it's supposed to be, and I just put a super thick layer of clear on top? I don't want my bow paint to scratch off as soon as a start shooting. There must be a better way to paint metal and make it durable.
Also how long should I wait before assembly after clear coat? A week? A month? Some parts are metal on metal and I don't want it to scratch. Is that just inevitable?

Never had that problem with an etch primer, that sucks. The acid should be eating into the metal and making it stick. Maybe try a dust coat first, letting it fully dry before giving a full coat???

@Squishy is right, the acid should eat into the metal, however, only a very light coat is required. This primer is not like normal primer where coverage of colour is needed. It may be the reason for the easy removal. Give a good 24hrs before applying any other primer or base. If the etch primer is still easily removed then I would suggest a fault with the primer itself. If this is not adhering, then it does'nt matter what you put on top, it will still chip or scratch off.
As for the orange peel, this could be a number of reasons but Im guessing the piece was painted with a certain haste and the under coats were not properly dry? There are a host of other reasons if this is not the case.
a/ to thick application
b/ spraying in too warm an environment so clear is drying and not flowing out
c/ incompatible clear coat